Book One — A MURDER FOR THE BOOKS — is available in hardback, paperback, eBook, and audiobook formats everywhere books are sold. 

Published by Crooked Lane Books.

A MURDER FOR THE BOOKS and SHELVED UNDER MURDER are under option with Sony Pictures Television.

Purchase Links — Click Here

Fleeing a disastrous love affair, university librarian Amy Webber moves in with her aunt in a quiet, historic mountain town in Virginia. She quickly busies herself with managing a charming public library that requires all her attention with its severe lack of funds and overabundance of eccentric patrons. The last thing she needs is a new, available neighbor whose charm lures her into trouble.

Dancer-turned-teacher and choreographer Richard Muir inherited the farmhouse next door from his great-uncle, Paul Dassin. But town folklore claims the house’s original owner was poisoned by his wife, who was an outsider. It quickly became water under the bridge, until she vanished after her sensational 1925 murder trial. Determined to clear the name of the woman his great-uncle loved, Richard implores Amy to help him investigate the case. Amy is skeptical until their research raises questions about the culpability of the town’s leading families… including her own.

When inexplicable murders plunge the quiet town into chaos, Amy and Richard must crack open the books to reveal a cruel conspiracy and lay a turbulent past to rest.

 

Long-listed for a 2018 Southern Book Prize

Southern Independent Booksellers Alliance (SIBA) “Okra Pick” for Fall 2017

“This debut mystery and series launch by a former librarian is an intriguing cozy that combines historical tidbits, a taste of the supernatural, a budding romance, and humor. Fans of Miranda James and Jenn McKinlay will welcome a new librarian sleuth to the fold.”

Library Journal

“As cozy mysteries go, this is one of the best.”

NY Journal of Books

“Captivating… Cozy fans will look forward to seeing more of the appealing Amy.”

Publishers Weekly

“Gilbert keeps readers wondering till the tale’s rewarding conclusion, one that they will not see coming and that will leave them wanting more from the author.”

–- Indiepicks Magazine